“Those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind”

I realise that of three blog posts, two have begun with a quote.  It’s not really cheating, I promise.  It’s more that I am inspired by how some people are able to use the English language so consisely and cleverly and I am merely elaborating on their sentiments.

Anywho, the lyrical quote above is from the one and only Doctor Seuss.  No doubt, his intentions were noble, and this is quite reasonably a quote to live by – if someone is going to make a fuss about what you do, they’re probably not the person you want to spend a lot of time with.

But in some sense (and my childish instincts are killing me for saying this) I disagree with with the good Doctor.  Is it really a requirement of friendship that they blindly agree with everything we do?  My reaction when I read this quote was; “But if we never take into account the people who disagree with us, where does that leave us?”. 

Taking criticism is one of the hardest things a human being can do.  Take it from me, I don’t always respond perfectly to opposition.  In fact, blatant disagreement can sometimes lead to some pretty heavy sarcasm and the potentially lethal eye-rolling I mentioned in my last post.

But the fact that I have faced opposition before is, I think, why I am the person I am today.  One of my good friends is the perfect example of this.  We disagree on almost every topic imaginable, we get each other worked up and annoyed and I’m sure I’m not the only one of us who has contemplated resorting to violent outbursts to resolve an argument.  But at the same time, our conversations are so interesting.  And even if I don’t change my view, our debates allow me to see another side of the argument, or at least develop new techniques for (diplomatically) expressing my opinion, without resorting to common assault or scare tactics.

I can’t imagine what sort of person I would be if I had disregarded anybody who ‘minded’ my behaviour in my life thus far.  Surely this wouldn’t be a safe doctrine to adopt.  Particularly in the eyes of those who strongly ‘mind’ bad behaviour…such as the police.

So that’s just what I was thinking.  I realise this is not particularly insightful or light-hearted but that’s okay I guess.  If you mind the lack of humour and intellect, you don’t matter.

3 responses to ““Those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

