Day One – Your Favourite Song

And so begins the 30 Day Blogging Challenge. Day One, and I’m already struggling.

How do I choose my favourite song? With music playing such an enormous part in my life and with my tastes changing daily, I find it incredibly difficult to nominate just one song that I like above all others. So, I am just going to have to bite the bullet and pick one to write about. And I have chosen to take a slightly odd angle on this.

The song I have chosen is ‘Rock and Roll Nerd’ by Tim Minchin. For those who don’t know, Tim is an Australian musical-comedian. He is known for his sometimes-controversial dark humour and his eccentricities – such as always performing barefoot. He is also a highly talented musician and songwriter and is, in my opinion, absolutely hilarious, but I’ll admit he’s not for everyone. This song is my favourite of his repetoire.

**Language warning**

This song is, as he puts, it “a song about having no depth” and is a lament to the entertainment industry. It tells the story of a young man who wants nothing more than to be a rock star and to be famous, but is “a victim of his upper-middle class upbringing” and finds he has nothing of any interest to write about.

As a muso myself, I identify on some level with this song, but that isn’t why I love it so much. More than anything else, I love Tim Minchin for his incredible grasp on the English language and the brilliant way in which he sets us premises and uses words so cleverly.

One great section of the song goes like this:

But you see the problem is
He always dreamt of being a star
But he learned piano instead of guitar
Which in the nineties didn’t get you very far
So while all the other kids were learning Stairway
He was the piano to their forte
Which is revisited at the end of the song when he breaks into a piano cover of Led Zeppelin’s ‘Stairway to Heaven’. This ability to lead the audience on and set up punchlines is at its best in the final verse, when the lyrics suddenly change perspective. 
He knows that his music lacks depth
But it just can’t be helped
He has nothing interesting to say
So he writes about himself
But he doesn’t want to seem self obsessed
So he writes in third person
In an attempt to seem more rock ‘n’ roll
But he suspects it’s not workin’
…indicating that he is indeed writing about himself. I don’t know what it is, but when I first heard this song and that verse in particular, I was hooked and have been a huge fan ever since. In fact, a couple of weeks ago I saw Tim perform live with the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra – the tickets to said concert being an eighteenth birthday present from last year.
 
 
So, day one of the 30 Day Blogging Challenge is complete. Stay tuned.
Here’s one Rock and Roll Nerd, signing off.
One thought on “Day One – Your Favourite Song

Leave a Reply

