Day Fifteen – A Poem

I am quite a fan of poetry, and the one I have chosen to write about today is one my grandmother introduced me to. It had particular resonance with me, never having been the tallest person, and I just adore it.
(and yes, the phonetic spelling is intentional. And gorgeous.)

The Littlest One
Marion St John Webb – First Published 1914

I’m sittin’ on the doorstep,
An’ I’m eating bread an’ jam,
An’ I isn’t cryin’ really,
Though I ‘specks you think I am.

I’m feeling rather lonely,
And I don’t know what to do,
‘Cos there’s no one here to play with,
An’ I’ve broke my hoop in two.

I can hear the child’en playing,
But they sez they don’t want me.
‘Cos my legs are rather little,
An’ I run so slow, you see.

So I’m sittin’ on the doorstep,
An’ I’m eating bread an’ jam,
An’ I isn’t cryin’ really,
Though it feels as if I am.

I just love this poem. The phonetic spelling depicts so perfectly the voice of the little child, and it is such a simple yet beautiful image of the smallest kid in the group being left behind. Every time I read it, I enjoy it just as much. The novelty never wears off. And that is why I’ve chosen it to be my focus today.

4 thoughts on “Day Fifteen – A Poem

  1. The littlest one – I typed in the first line which I remembered from my childhood – I was the youngest of 6 kids! and it resonates with me -loved it then and still do – brings back memories for sure – bread and jam was v. much a staple food for us in those war years. Ted Hinton

    1. Hi Ted,

      I’m glad the post resonated with you and brought back some memories. I was introduced to the poem by my grandmother when I was younger, and it remains a favourite to this day. Thanks very much for your words.

      Motzie

  2. Thank you for this, my Grandmother used to recite this poem to my sister and I when we were little and I could remember most of it, but not all. I found a few places on the net where it was written down but none of the transcriptions quite matched what I remembered. Yours matches my memory perfectly.

    To this day if ever I am sad I make myself a jam sandwich, recite this poem to myself and remember happy summer days with Gran.

    1. Thanks for your response, Joe – I’m glad this resonated with you šŸ™‚ this is a family favourite of ours too and somewhere I have a cassette tape of my grandmother reading it for me. It’s so evocative, I really love it. Glad it brought back some memories for you and helped remind you of the rest of the words.

Leave a Reply

