Day Sixteen – A Song That Makes You Cry (Or, Nearly)

Today’s choice is somewhat simpler. I am not one to cry easily at songs, books, movies etc, so when I do, it makes an impact.

There are few songs that make me cry, but one I remember absolutely weeping at is ‘The Lighthouse’ by Amity Dry.

This was several years ago, and when I listen to it now it still has an effect on me, but not as profoundly as the first time I heard it. The song is essentially about grief, and the struggle of losing someone, but also the knowledge that although a person may have passed away, they will stay with you.

The first time I heard this song was shortly after a friend’s mother had passed away. I was at home, I listened to this song, I connected the lyrics immediately to my friend’s situation and I burst into tears. And it didn’t stop for a long time.

Now, the song can still bring a tear to my eye, but hearing it so soon after such a tragedy really had an impact on me. It is a beautiful ballad, and Amity Dry has a very pretty voice, but it is the lyrics of this song that just tug on my heartstrings. Now, someone pass me a tissue….

The worst thing is the silence ringing in my ears
And waking up from a dream to remember you’re not here
And some days I’m so lonely I can barely breathe
But then something will remind me that you’re still right here with me

And you’re the lighthouse leading me home
Guiding me through every storm
You’re the sun that shines on my face
The warming embrace, the light of my days
You’re the lighthouse

I long to hear your laughter, to look into your eyes
And I miss the way we used to talk until the sun would rise
And some days I’m so angry you were taken far too soon
But I know you’re right beside me, and you’re carrying me through

And you’re the lighthouse leading me home
Guiding me through every storm
You’re the sun that shines on my face
The warming embrace, the light of my days
You’re the lighthouse

And I swear that I can feel you
Your breath upon my skin
And whenever I need you
I can hear you whispering

And you’re the lighthouse leading me home
Guiding me through every storm
You’re the sun that shines on my face
The warming embrace, the light of my days
You’re the lighthouse

Leave a Reply

