Day Nineteen – A Talent of Yours

Alright, so today requires me to avoid modesty and acknowledge something I’m good at. I’m going to go with something that is not only my absolute passion, but has lead me to some of the greatest experiences of my life. Music.

I play the piano and the guitar, and I sing. I wouldn’t say I’m brilliant at any of them, but I have a general level of competence. My piano and guitar playing are generally for the purposes of accompanying my singing. Over the years, I have dabbled in the harp, the clarinet and the glockenspiel as well, but the guitar and the piano are the ones that really stuck with me.

I find music incredibly calming. As cliché as it sounds, playing music quite literally allows me to detach from whatever is going on in my life for a short period of time. Whether I’m belting out my favourite songs, improvising a little melody or chord progression, or writing my own songs; I can lose hours of a day in the process of making music.

My passion and talent for music is what eventually lead me towards musical theatre. I hadn’t performed in any other way before I was in my first musical – the title role in Annie – and from then on, I was hooked. This musical experience is particularly important to me because it has lead me to some of the most fulfilling and exciting experiences of my life; preparing and performing in shows, and it was also through musical theatre that I met the girl who is now my best friend.

I have a theory that ‘theatre people’ are some of the greatest that you’ll ever meet, because they have a certain level of confidence that makes them outgoing and friendly, and they are often quirky and individual as well.

So when I met my best friend through a production of The Sound of Music, our shared talent and passion for music not only brought us together but has continued to keep us together since then. We frequently catch up for jam sessions – both of us singing, me playing guitar and her playing bass – and together we record covers of our favourite songs and versions of our own originals. Through our music, we are able to share so much, and it keeps us tied together despite living quite a far way apart and not seeing each other too often.

“Music is the art of thinking with sounds.”

“Music produces a kind of pleasure which human nature cannot do without”

“Where words fail, music speaks.”

Leave a Reply

