Day Twenty Eight – This Year, In Great Detail

This year, in great detail? Where to begin… I’m not going to recount the various events of my life because I think I’ve covered them sufficiently in the last few posts.

What I will say though, is that 2011 has already been a rollercoaster ride and a half for me, and we’re only six months in. At the end of last year, when I was looking ahead, I saw my first year out of high school, my first year of University, my first year of legal adulthood. And so far, it has been everything I expected, and more.

An increase in time and freedom, but an accompanying increase in responsibility and pressure to be mature. A chance to start afresh, and a chance to further develop those aspects of my life I wished to continue. A world of possibilities, but also pressure to find my niche and work at it. A desire to do so many new things, and a realisation that my days are still only 24 hours long. A rush of excitement and a glint of apprehension.

From what I could ascertain from a quick Google search, in the Chinese Zodiac 2011 is the Year of the Rabbit. In the Zodiac of Motzie however, I have to dub it Year of The Balancing Act. All these dichotomies have meant I have had to carefully weigh up my options at several points. Although I do have much more time outside of classes this year, somehow that hasn’t immediately made life easier to plan. In some regards, it’s almost harder – as I can find myself procrastinating and wasting time in the process of trying to decide what to do with my days. At other points, I feel frustrated that I seem to be constantly busy.

I bought a new pair of runners the other day (stay with me, I have a point). Like most new shoes, I am going through a breaking-in period. They were fine the first time I wore them, but when I had my first stint of wearing them for an extended period of time, they started to rub a little. So I have gone back to wearing them in short doses for a little while.

I think the first half of 2011 has been my breaking-in period. Seemingly smooth sailing at first, nursing a few blisters at the moment, but slowly working out a way to moderate it. The last few years have prepared me for this new stage of my life – proverbially teaching me to tie my laces – and now I’m getting ready to run.

Here’s hoping I make it to the finishing line without too many injuries – or at least having recovered and learnt from them.

2 thoughts on “Day Twenty Eight – This Year, In Great Detail

  1. Dear Soulmate,

    My whole life revolves around making analogies. I love yours!

    Another thing that resonates is having time to fill fruitfully without bells and deadlines! I need that pressure at the last minute to fuel my brain and body! As always, love to read your words.

    Marg

    1. Thanks so much for the feedback Marg – it’s been ages since I’ve had a comment!

      And I agree, sometimes an analogy is the only way to get across what you’re saying. I certainly enjoy them 🙂

Leave a Reply

