Day Twenty Nine – Hopes, Dreams And Plans For The Next 365 Days

Now this is a tough one. If this year so far is anything to go by, I have no idea what the next 365 days could have in store for me. To begin with the obvious, I will complete my first year of University. At this point, it doesn’t seem that much will get in the way of this (touch wood).

Trimester 2 began yesterday, and unlike last trimester, I actually have a standard number of hours. But, being me, I couldn’t just let this result in a normal timetable. No, I have condensed my hours into one full day and two half days (if you can call them that), which meant that I began the new term with an 8am start to kick off an eight hour day. It’s funny how this seems to be such a struggle – I did just finish Year 12, which was 8 hours a day, 5 days a week…yet somehow to do that for even one day at Uni seems like immensely hard work. Ah, the life of a university student.

So what else?

Well, I’m getting back into theatre! Following a few unsuccessful auditions (aka, rejections), I’ve been cast in the ensemble for another show – which I am UBER excited about. As far as I’m concerned, it has been far too long since I’ve been on stage, and I’m just massively grateful to have another chance to get out there.

I’m still umpiring (in fact, I have to disappear to one of my shifts in a minute or two), which is hard work but worth it in the end, despite my perpetual complaining about it. Unfortunately rehearsals for the musical means I won’t be playing netball every week, but I will still try and play as often as I can.

So clearly I’m keeping busy. But what about hopes and dreams for the next 365 days? That’s harder to say. At the moment my goal is just to reach some sort of equilibrium. So far, Uni life has been treating me well. I’m really loving it. But the mix-and-match timetables and free days, combined with irregular work shifts and rehearsal schedules means that time management is exponentially more difficult. I go from being crazily busy and run off my feet to having more free time than I can deal with. So I suppose my hopes for the next 365 days is to figure out some way to balance it all, so that I don’t end up as some sobbing heap in the corner of my bedroom. And this can only put me in good stead for all those 365-days-es to follow.

Leave a Reply

