Why I didn’t finish a book in April

So, my reading challenge has hit a roadblock. I did start a book in April as per the stipulations but unfortunately I have not yet completed that book. Why? Well, there are a number of factors.

I am damn tired. I’m not going to lie about it. I have a number of projects on the go, my sleeping pattern has gone out the window and often when I get on the tram in the morning (my prime reading time), I just want to close my eyes and listen to a podcast.

I have also discovered that I could benefit from reading glasses. After finally getting my eyes tested, I’ve been told that my vision is very good but I’m long-sighted, making close-up work like staring at a computer monitor all day, harder work than it should be.

So I’ve been taking it easy on the reading until I get my new glasses in the next few days.

So have I really “failed”? I don’t think so.

My goal in all of this was to write and read more for pleasure. I’ve written at least one blog post each month this year (more than my recent average) and I’ve been reading much more than I was prior to starting this. I have a collection of books that are in line for completion throughout this year.

They include Dawn French’s Dear Fatty (which I’ve been loaned by a colleage at work), Sheryl Sandberg’s Lean In (which I’m reading to discuss with my professional mentor), Roxanne Gay’s Bad Feminist (which is the one I started in April) and Caitlin Moran’s How to Build a Girl (which I just discovered yesterday and have ordered online).

So I don’t think I’ve failed, and I’m not giving up. I am affording myself some much-needed breathing room and not taking my challenge too seriously.

Watch this space.

Leave a Reply

